Servicemen and women outside Haig House


The Legion is governed by a Board of Trustees. Elections and appointments are staggered over a three year cycle to allow an intake of new Trustees every year.

The Board exercises responsibility for the overall strategic direction, governance and management of the Legion. The Board delegates responsibility for the day-to-day running of the Legion through the Director General to the Executive Board.


Patron and National President

The Royal British Legion is honoured to have Her Majesty the Queen as its Patron. While having royal patronage from its founding in 1921, the Legion received its "Royal" appellation in 1971 on its golden anniversary.

The National President of The Royal British Legion is Air Marshal David Walker CB CBE AFC MA RAF (Retd) appointed in May 2016.

Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal is President of the Women's Section of The Royal British Legion.

2019 Election Pack

Download the new information pack we have put together to support the forthcoming process of nomination and election for key roles on the Board of Trustees. We hope this provides all of the information and supporting documents that Voting Branches will need to submit nominations for all the elections which are due to take place prior to Annual Conference 2019.

Trustees are key leadership roles within The Royal British Legion and the forthcoming elections are for the following roles: National Chairman, National Vice-Chairman, and Trustees (3 positions).

Click here to download the 2019 Election Pack.

Board of Trustees

National Chairman

Terry Whittles

National Vice Chairman

Una Cleminson


Elected Trustees                                                                                                       

Appointed Trustees

Denise Edgar

Debbie Sorkin

Lt Col Joseph Falzon OSJ BEM

Jason Coward

Colin Kemp

Maj Gen David Jolliffe CB FRCP

Anny Reid

Philip Moore

Rod Bedford

Anthony Macaulay

David Whimpenny

Liz Butler

Rod Bedford

Paul Harris QGM


Women's Section

Pat Chrimes
Chairwoman of the Women's Section

Executive Board

Director General

Charles Byrne

Director of Finance

Daniel Oppenheimer

Director Operations

Antony Baines

Director Fundraising

Claire Rowcliffe

Director Remembrance & Marketing

Gary Ryan

Director Human Resources & Organisational Development

Sue Donaldson

Director of Membership & Volunteering Emma Cannings

supported by


Head of Governance & Administration

Allan Burgin

Chief Financial Officer

Helen Downie